Certificate of Merit

Originally established in March 1847.

Certificate actually signed by the POTUS.

Only awarded to enlisted for gallantry in action or meritorious service.

Awarded primarily during the first Mexican War and Spanish American War.

Discontinued in 1918. 1,206 CoMs total were awarded.

In 1918, Distinguished Service Cross replaced the CoM.