Commendation Medals

Originally, only a ribbon, awarded for acts of meritorious service and achievement for enlisted. In 1960, the medal associated with the ribbon was created.

Criteria later expanded to officers and combat action heroism, which would be denoted with a “V” device.

Joint Service Commendation
Est. May 1967
** Gold Star indicates subsequent award for Navy**

Army Commendation
Est. Dec 1945
**OLC indicates subsequent award for Army**

Navy Commendation
Est. Mar 1950
**Silver Star worn in lieu of the 5th Gold Star in Navy**