Legion of Merit

Legion of Merit was established in July 1942 by President Roosevelt.

Awarded to members of the United Nations Armed Forces for exceptionally meritorious conduct in the performance of outstanding service to the United States.

Created in four degrees: Chief Commander, Commander, Officer, and Legionnaire. Awarded to distinguished allied and lower grades to US Armed Forces.

Inspired by the French Legion of Honor Medal (1870 version below, left)

French Legion of Honor, WWI issue

Legion of Merit “Officer” Grade, WWII Issue

Legion of Merit “Officer” Grade, WWII Issue

Brooch numbered

Awarded to
Capt Williams Chumes
Air Corp.

The Chief Commander Grade of the LoM is a 3” breast badge, worn on the left side.

The LoM Commander grade is primarily used for recognizing foreign field grade commanders.

Legion of Merit
Chief Commander Grade

Clasp numbered 732

Legion of Merit Commander Grade

USSR Colonel General Govbat, commander of Soviet 3rd Army is awarded the LoM Commander by USA LTG Simpson, 28 May 1945.